I got the notification from The Athletic while I was about to go into Target. I had that 5% birthday discount I wanted to use, but I had been thinking all day on how to and even if I should use it. I knew I wanted to buy baking soda and a new silicone scrubber to replace my dirty loofah (I should blog post about that loofah later). But what else? I need to maximize my discount by buying things I need to get, but I kept going back and forth about whether there are items I only wanted to get. A circle lock, for when I rent out a second storage unit so I can finally really get down to organizing my stuff? Well, they didn't have one. Motor oil? Nah -- I checked prices on my phone while I was in there; it's cheaper in a few other stores. Should I get a lime? I think I'll be out and about again next weekend, so it wouldn't make sense. I swear there was something else I thought I needed to get, but for the life of me, I couldn't remember. But I did remember the baking soda and scrubber, so that's what I got, and I was able to strike a whopping 60 cents off my total. Happy Birthday to me!
And then I come home and, once I went into my bathroom, I realized there was something else I really wanted to get: Tea tree oil to put on the back of my head to get rid of the acne back there. And I knew I was going to forget something when I went to Target. I thought about writing a grocery list, but I didn't want to write it down, and I didn't want to bring a piece of paper with me. Still, I knew there would be a good chance I would forget something, and still I didn't want to write anything down. And so the tea tree oil I really want to buy I will have to buy without that 5% birthday discount. I'm so ashamed I think I'll have to buy it at Wal-Mart, where I think it's probably a bit more expensive than if I bought it at Target, even without the 5%. Can't walk back in to Target without hanging my head in shame.
---
I just ate a Krispy Kreme donut with milk. The Krispy Kremes were free through its application because it was my birthday. But I didn't want to eat them all at once. In fact, my OCD compels me to eat them only every other day. And it turns out I skipped a day. Hopefully the last one lasts till Tuesday.
Doughnuts, of course, go with milk. And this quart of milk I had bought, hmmm, some time ago. I thought it was still good because the use by date stamped on top of the bottlecap reads today/Monday. So, just like I have done, I poured some milk into a bowl into which I dunk the doughnut. Once I finish with the doughnut, I slurp up the rest. But this time, motherfucker, it tasted funny. And then I smelled it. Honestly, it smelled kind of funky for, like, a week before today, but it smelled even worse now. Goddammit, I think I just drank spoiled milk. I dumped the rest out of the bowl, then dumped the rest out of the bottle. I thought it would still be good! But come to think of it, when I opened it for the very first time (I don't remember how long ago), I saw that part of the cap was already pulled away from its rim. And maybe I'm being a hypochondriac, but I am feeling really dizzy right now. A little dissociative, too, like I'm not a part of this body that is typing this right now.
But the thing that kills me (literally?) more than wasting milk is the fact that I had, oh, three weeks to finish off a quart of 2% milk and I couldn't fucking do it. It was just a quart! Maybe my lactose intolerance gave me second thoughts. But I had plans on using a lot of it in a smoothie I was going to make. I have the fruit in the freezer. But I was going to make it only after I work out, and I've been too damn busy to work out, so I haven't made the smoothie, so I haven't used the milk that way. Reminds me that I also have greek yogurt inside my refrigerator. It has a stamped sell-by date of April 16, but that fuckin' stamp did me no favors with the milk, so for all I know, the yogurt's already bad, too. Might need to bring it with me to work this week.
---
You know what? I thought I had a third thing I needed to blog post about illustrating how my dumb ass was fucking myself in another, but I forgot. Oh, my self-destruction is so meta!
No comments:
Post a Comment